China’s Power Players
Link copied

The 19th Politburo

By SCMP Graphics and SCMP China desk

The 25-member Politburo is the highest policy-making body in China. In theory, the Politburo is elected by the Central Committee but back-room negotiations often dictate its membership. Like the Central Committee, a significant number of the Politburo’s current members are expected to retire after the 20th party congress, having reached the retirement age of 68. But it is not clear whether Xi Jinping, the party’s general secretary, will stick with tradition. A new Politburo and its core, the Standing Committee, will be revealed at the first plenum of the 20th Central Committee to be held immediately after the party congress.

Click on the image to see profiles

Age as of Oct 2022

Age as of Oct 2022:

(Retirement age: )





Related stories

*Reached retirement age or moved to ceremonial post

List of abbreviations

CCDI: Central Commission for Discipline Inspection

CCP: Chinese Communist Party

CMC: Central Military Commission

CPPCC: Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference

CYL: Communist Youth League

NDRC: National Development and Reform Commission

NPC: National People's Congress

PLA: People's Liberation Army

PRC: People's Republic of China

PSC: Politburo Standing Committee

Associate Creative Director Marcelo Duhalde
Illustration by Marcelo Duhalde
Web development by Han Huang
Reporting by William Zheng
Edited by Daniel Kwan and Jun Mai

Hi, Internet Explorer user!

This site has some features that may not be compatlibe with your browser. Should you wish to view content, switch browsers to either Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox to get an awesome experience